The SANZAAR Archive comprises rugby union footage from Super Rugby (formerly Super 12 and Super 14), The Rugby Championship (formerly the Tri Nations) and the British & Irish Lions test matches in the Southern Hemisphiere.

  • Content
  • Licence
  • About
  • Facts & Figures
  • Super Rugby
  • The Rugby Championship
  • British & Irish Lions
Footage Programming
Rights Available* All Media All Media
Territory Worldwide Worldwide
Restrictions See 'Further Information' See 'Further Information'
Period In perpetuity In perpetuity
Available Hours TBC >8

Other Information: International Sound cleared for all footage/programming.

*All footage/programming is licensed on a non-exclusive basis and subject to final approval.

Download PDF Resources

PDF Resources for SANZAAR

Select a file below to download.

SANZAR Archive - Sales Sheet 2016
603 KB
SANZAR Classics Matches
1 MB

SANZAAR (South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Argentina Rugby) is a joint venture between the Rugby Unions of South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Argentina to operate Super Rugby and The Rugby Championship.

SANZAAR was formed in 1996 to coincide with Rugby's move to professionalism the previous year and launched with 2 competitions, the Super 12 (now Super Rugby) and the Tri Nations (now the Rugby Championships).

In 2011, the Union Argentina de Rugby joined SANZAAR (formerly SANZAR) and now compete in The Rugby Championship.

-SANZAAR is the body charged with running two of the world's pre-eminent Rugby Union competitions - Super Rugby and The Rugby Championship.

-In 2012 SANZAAR introduced The Rugby Championship which replaced the traditional Tri-Nations tournament allowing Argentina joining the competition.

-When rugby union became professional in 1996, the Australia, New Zealand and South Africa rugby boards formed SANZAR, this included a Tri-Nations tournament between the three nations.

- In 2016, Argentina was formerly recognised within the body, as SANZAR became SANZAAR.

-New Zealand has dominated the Tri-Nations/ The Rugby Championship’s winning 11 tournaments and 56 of the 78 tests. South Africa and Australia both have 3 tournament wins to their names since 1996.